top of page
Search

Spread Joy Like It's Confetti

Happiness.



One word. Nine letters. A million different meanings (give or take).

Has anyone ever done a good deed for you that it made your entire day? Or have you ever done a good deed for someone else - be it a stranger, a family member or a friend - and still make your entire day? Have you ever had sudden bursts of joy and happiness that you just feel as though nothing could ever get you down?


For me, it's when I'm listening to music.


That sounds really cheesy, doesn't it?  'Oh, music just sets me free yada yada yada' 


Well, to be more specific, it's actually when I'm listening to my musicals playlist alone in my room. Sure, modern songs are cool and have good lyrics, but what can beat singing along to John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John? In fact, as I write this I've got Mamma Mia blasting into my room because Lily James is absolutely perfect (ok y'all, that's an exaggeration).


Anyhoo.


Musicals make me laugh. They make me smile. They make me cry.


But all in a good way.


You know, the other day I cried over Horrible Histories. Why, you ask? Because I've been going through a weird phase of listening to the tracks and actually liking them. Sure, young Mathew Baynton was my nine year old crush, but that's another matter. The point is I cried because they made me happy. Because they brought/bring so much laughter to people through clean jokes and sexy second sons of Charles the First. (I really wanted to do alliteration there - lol ok then, Polly)

My point is, you gotta make people laugh the same way children laugh at Horrible Histories or any other show/book/character/person/etc. You've got to push away all the hate you have inside of you, focus on the bigger picture and realise that everything would be so much better if you were nice rather than an asshole.


I've got some homework for all of you.


Open a door for someone at least once every day. Say thank you to someone. Tell a joke.

Ooh, even better.


Compliment them.


Do you have any idea how good it feels to have someone tell you that your [hair/eyes/outfit/makeup/etc] looks good? Can you remember what it was like to have a relative say that you've grown? Sure, it was embarrassing because you probably hadn't grown or they say that every time, but at least they cared, right?


Hope this helped.


Remember: a little kindness never hurt anyone.


See you in my next blog post!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Sexism of Shaving

Shaving. It's something every woman does, isn't it? Or rather, it's something that every woman is supposed to do: something that society has dictated should be a part of our everyday lives, something

You're Not Alone

Hey there. It's me, Polly, back again with another blog post. Some of you may have come from my old blog site on Wordpress and that's why a few of these posts may seem familiar to you. It's because th

Old News, Same News

Have any of you ever noticed how the newspapers, whether it be online or on paper, portray women celebrities? No? Well, I have, which is why I'm writing this blog post lol. I follow the Daily Mail on

bottom of page