top of page
Search

Old News, Same News

Have any of you ever noticed how the newspapers, whether it be online or on paper, portray women celebrities? No? Well, I have, which is why I'm writing this blog post lol.


I follow the Daily Mail on Snapchat, as well as the Sun. It can be amusing - yesterday I saw a video of a guy knocking down a statue and for some reason it was funny to me - but it can also be downgrading, especially for females.


I've been thinking about this a lot, actually, so excuse me (or don't, actually) if I come off a little ranty.


Most days, if you follow one of these newspaper companies on Snapchat, they'll post stuff about the main events going on in the world. The coronavirus, political stuff, yada yada yada. But! (and this is a big but) they also post pretty nonsensical stories that apparently appeal to their viewers, such as...


  • what bikini Rita Ora is wearing on her vacation (a true story! They posted every. single. one)

  •  if Kylie Jenner has got highlights in her hair

  • different celeb dresses at some big, fancy event

  • Jennifer Aniston is looking as good as she did at 30 as she does now, at 50! How ever does she manage it? (money. trust me - I love her, but it's true)


Or they post a picture where the female is looking a little bit ill, or tired, or drunk and post some weird title such as 'wild night out' or something else that is seemingly downgrading.


The other day, I saw a photo of Keira Knightley (I think? Don't hold me to that, please!) wearing sweatpants, a hoodie and drinking coffee. Firstly: do we really care what she's wearing? Secondly: is it really necessary to post a title that says something along the lines of '[insert female celeb here] is looking lazy' (or something else that is similar and has alliteration)??


Now, this is where the not-so-fun part comes in.


I've noticed that if they post a picture of a man looking ill/tired/drunk, then the title is not downgrading, it is not insulting or anything of the sort. '[insert male celeb here] lets off some much-needed steam' or something to that effect.


And if they're wearing sweatpants? '[male celeb] is fresh-faced after appearing at [important event]'.


I should work for a newspaper company. Really, I should.


My point is:


Stop. posting. nonsensical. topics. about. female. celebs. in. bikinis. because. it. makes. no one. feel. good.


Please and thank you.


(Here I am acting like the Daily Mail is really going to read this. If only they did)


Hope you're all having an amazing day!


Don't forget to stay beautiful (inside), stay kind and stand up for what's right if you can. we love you for you, don't forget that.


I'll see you in my next blog post...

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Sexism of Shaving

Shaving. It's something every woman does, isn't it? Or rather, it's something that every woman is supposed to do: something that society has dictated should be a part of our everyday lives, something

You're Not Alone

Hey there. It's me, Polly, back again with another blog post. Some of you may have come from my old blog site on Wordpress and that's why a few of these posts may seem familiar to you. It's because th

Do It Like a Girl

"You run like a girl." "That was such a girly scream." So? Who gives a flying duck if I run a little more feminine than society wants me to? Who cares whether my vocal cords are a little bit higher th

bottom of page