top of page
Search

Do It Like a Girl

"You run like a girl."


"That was such a girly scream."


So?


Who gives a flying duck if I run a little more feminine than society wants me to? Who cares whether my vocal cords are a little bit higher than yours? Do you want to know why we shouldn't care about that?


Because I'm a mother-frigging girl, that's why.


I run like a girl because I  am a girl. I scream like a girl because I  am a girl. Anything I do will, of course, be affected to look more feminine because I am a girl. 


Now, I understand that guys can say that to guys, and girls can say it to guys, as well. I understand that it's just as sexist to say it to guys as it is to say it to girls.


Can I just ask why we say it at all?


The thing is: we only say it as an insult. We say "you run like a girl" often, but not in a good way. Why is it so bad to have a 'feminine' run? Why has society created this image that women aren't strong, women can't run as well as men, or women can't do much that is better than men?

Why do we never hear "you run like a man" being tossed around so carelessly like it's female equivalent?


For some reason, it is deemed to be bad if you do anything like a girl.


And I want to know why.


This is a bit of a short blog post today because there isn't much to say on the matter other than why do we accuse people of being feminine so much? 


Keep being you, ladies, because you rock that.

**I just said the word 'rock' and now I'm reconsidering everything I've ever done**


until tomorrow's post!


~ Polly

15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Sexism of Shaving

Shaving. It's something every woman does, isn't it? Or rather, it's something that every woman is supposed to do: something that society has dictated should be a part of our everyday lives, something

You're Not Alone

Hey there. It's me, Polly, back again with another blog post. Some of you may have come from my old blog site on Wordpress and that's why a few of these posts may seem familiar to you. It's because th

Old News, Same News

Have any of you ever noticed how the newspapers, whether it be online or on paper, portray women celebrities? No? Well, I have, which is why I'm writing this blog post lol. I follow the Daily Mail on

bottom of page